Skip to content

Dear, Dear… The Departed

September 7, 2006

I saw a commercial for The Departed for the first time tonight, and while few things get me more excited than a new Martin Scorsese movie, I’m a little skeptical of this one. Watching the trailer only confirmed my fears.

For starters, the casting is highly suspect. Scorsese continues his ill-advised obsession with Leonardo DiCaprio. In this one, he’s an undercover cop infiltrating a Boston gang. I don’t expect much for DiCaprio has yet to prove he can convincingly play an adult. Taken individually, I very much like the key members of the cast: Jack Nicholson, Matt Damon, Mark Wahlberg, Alec Baldwin. But put them all together, and you have more faux-toughness and scenery-chewing than Sawyer’s flashbacks on Lost. And judging from the trailer, the Boston accents, with the exception of Wahlberg’s, are universally awful. Nicholson’s is especially bad.

I’m also awfully suspicious of the release date, Oct. 6. The early fall is usually a burial ground for movies studios don’t feel good about. It’s also much earlier than you’d expect a potential Oscar nominee–as all Scorsese movies presumptively are–to debut.

I’m still going to see this movie very soon after it comes out, but I’ll pray until then that this isn’t one of those overblown vanity pics that sinks under the weight of its own starpower.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bro permalink
    September 7, 2006 8:17 pm

    i’ve seen infernal affairs, the hong kong film this is a remake of, and if it’s at all faithful, this should be cant-miss.
    as far as boston accents go, what move had good ones? good will hunting- no, mystic river- hell no

  2. Juan permalink
    September 17, 2006 6:37 pm

    I have no problem with DiCaprio. In fact, I think he’s an excellent actor. I’m just hoping the movie strays a bit from “Infernal Affairs,” because I’m not all that interested in seeing the exact same story all over again.

  3. Juan permalink
    October 7, 2006 10:03 pm

    From what I’ve been hearing, not only is “The Departed” the movie of the year, but Leonardo DiCaprio gives the standout performance in it. And the story differs somewhat from that of “Infernal Affairs,” which is good news for me. I’m really looking forward to this now.

  4. Juan permalink
    October 10, 2006 8:05 pm

    I saw the movie on Sunday, and I was somewhat disappointed. It’s good, but not as good as the reviews led me to expect. I do think DiCaprio gives the film’s standout performance, though.

  5. November 5, 2006 4:31 pm

    Like you, I have not been a big Leodardo DeCaprio fan, until now. I did not see any trailers, just sat down and watched the film. Leonardo’s performance was awesome, he has grown up. I liked him in Aviator, he has a new maturity about him and steals the show in a big name cast.

    Great movie!

Leave a Reply

